Cryotherapy in Hong Kong

Way back in early March of this year I partially tore something in my left thigh playing soccer. The recovery had been taking a long time so I decided to try cryotherapy in August. I made the trek out to Causeway Bay to try the only facility in Hong Kong that I know of which offers cryotherapy, Polaris Wellness

Polaris Wellness is located on the 10th floor of Lee Theatre in Causeway Bay. The facilities are comfortable and the staff is friendly and professional. When I went in August, they were offering an introductory 2 sessions for a total of $900. After that, there would be a wide variety of packages or membership plans you could choose from. The options seemed quite flexible.

First, I had a chat with the administrative staff and then the technician. He needed to assess what I was hoping to get out of the treatment. I was hoping to stimulate collagen production in my joints. I had heard that it’s a possibility and that would help with my thigh injury and also a wonky left knee that’s been bothering me off and on. After some chatting, I got a little tour of the facilities and then began my first introductory treatment.

They’ve got two main treatments. One is for whole body therapy, where you get treated with super cold gas all over your body while you stand inside some sort of pod, and the other treatment involves much more focused treatment, where just a certain area of your body is treated. I assumed that’s more of a facial kind of treatment meant to improve your skin complexion.

I was there for the whole body treatment so I was led to a changing room where I had to strip down, put on some disposable undies, apply stickers (for protection?) to my nipples, put on some comfy socks and a cozy robe.

After letting the technician know that I was finished, I was led into the treatment room. Once there, he told me to put on some boots and gloves and then I was led into the booth. Coming from Manitoba, I was used to sub zero temperatures well below -30 so when I first got in, it wasn’t a big deal. The initial temperature was only -20. But over the next couple minutes, it gradually got down to -105. It stayed there until 3 minutes had passed and I was honestly relieved when it was done. I felt great after warming up and the second session a week later was much the same with the only difference being that I got to -120 by the end of the 3 minutes.


I’m still considering trying to carve out some time once or twice in my week to make the trip to Causeway Bay and do a 10 session package. It feels wonderful and if it helps rejuvenate my joints a bit, I’d consider it well worth the time and money.

Leave a Reply

